Spicy Tuna Rolls

Do Spicy Tuna Rolls Have Dairy In It?

Spicy tuna is a generic term for a variety of sushi rolls. Along with California Rolls, Dragon Rolls, and Tiger Rolls, the Spicy Tuna Roll is a sushi staple in Japanese restaurants across the United States. A spicy tuna roll usually consists of three key ingredients. Sashimi-grade tuna, sushi rice (steamed rice seasoned with sushi vinegar), and nori (seaweed). So you may come to wonder, do tuna rolls have dairy in them? This article will discuss everything you need to know about Tuna Rolls in detail. 

Spicy Tuna rolls may sometimes contain dairy, depending on the ingredients. Dairy may be present in imitation crab meat or cream cheese. However, you can eat a spicy tuna roll without any dairy by making a few simple substitutions.

Dairy-free Spicy Tuna Rolls are rolls that contain no dairy at all. Lactose intolerant people and others who follow a dairy-free diet enjoy dairy-free tuna rolls. To request a dairy-free tuna roll, specify that it be made without imitation crab meat, cheese, mayonnaise, or sour cream. So, if you want to learn everything about Dairy-free Tuna Rolls, read further!

Best Dairy-Free Spicy Tuna Rolls

Spicy Tuna Rolls

Many tuna rolls do not contain any dairy products. Some dairy-free tuna rolls are given below:

Raw Vegan Tuna Rolls:

Fresh veggies are folded in a nori sheet with miso and hemp hearts to make raw vegan tuna rolls. They’re light, healthy, and simple to prepare! These rolls often contain only veggies, making them risk-free for persons who are allergic to dairy.

Tiger Rolls:

Tiger rolls are prepared with tiger shrimp and are also known as shrimp tempura rolls. Tiger rolls are commonly made with tempura shrimp, seaweed, sushi rice, cucumber, and avocado, although they can be made in various ways. They are completely dairy-free.

Crunchy Roll:

Crunchy Roll

Crunchy Roll Sushi is a delectable variation of the classic California Roll. It has a center of shrimp tempura, cucumber, snow crab mix, and avocado, and it is topped with crunchy tempura flakes, which is how it got its name. If you’ve never tasted Crunchy Roll Sushi, now is the time to find out what you’ve been missing.

Dragon Roll:

The festive dragon roll is a delicious uramaki tuna roll with avocado, unagi, and tempura shrimp. This inside-out tuna roll, shaped like a dragon, is normally filled with eel and cucumber, with slices of avocado resembling the dragon’s scales. Dragon rolls, often known as caterpillar rolls because of their green color, come in a variety of shapes and sizes.



Tamagoyaki is a Japanese rolling omelet that literally means “egg fried over dry fire.” It consists of a wrapped omelet on top of an oblong mound of sushi rice tied by a thin nori seaweed ribbon. It is dairy-free and can be made with either egg or soya.

Sushi Rolls With Dairy-Free Substitutions

  • Avocado, cucumber, or tofu can be used to add smoothness to tuna rolls without using dairy.
  • In spicy tuna rolls, plant-based cheese and mayo, as well as plant-based vegan items, can be used to replace dairy. These products are made by a variety of vegan-friendly providers, so you should have no trouble finding something that works for you.
  • You can also ask for soy milk instead of ordinary milk in your tuna roll at sushi restaurants. Many sushi restaurants will also feature vegan-friendly options.
  • Some restaurants may provide a “vegetarian” tuna roll that lacks meat or seafood but has all of the flavors and textures of a typical tuna roll.

These substitutions won’t make your tuna roll taste exactly like one made with cheese or other dairy products, but they’ll be delicious anyway!

How Do You Know If a Tuna Roll Is Dairy-Free?

It can be tough to determine whether or not the tuna roll you’re ordering contains dairy if you’re seeking dairy-free tuna rolls.

  • Checking the ingredients list on the menu is the easiest method to tell if a tuna roll includes dairy. For example, the existence of words like “cheese” or “milk,” or the use of symbols like a cow.
  • You can also ask your tuna roll chef if the tuna roll you’re ordering contains dairy if you’re eating it at a sushi restaurant. They’ll be able to inform you which tuna roll ingredients contain dairy and which don’t.
  • By doing some initial research into which types of tuna rolls are most likely to contain dairy.

The Manhattan Roll, Philly Roll, California Roll, Dynamite Roll, and Spider Roll are some of the tuna rolls that are known to contain dairy products.

How Many Tuna Rolls Are Safe To Eat Per Week?

There’s no denying that spicy tuna rolls are crazily fantastic, whether you’re a hot tuna roll lover or simply can’t live without your monthly dose of Negi hamachi roll.

But, while you’d want to go on a nightly date with a king crab roll for one and a platter of sashimi on the side if you had the opportunity, you might be wondering how many tuna rolls are safe to consume regularly.

Healthy persons can consume two to three tuna rolls (10-15 pieces) each week. When it comes to fish, most people are concerned about mercury. Mercury poisoning can induce dizziness, headaches, developmental delays, brain damage, and even organ failure, which is understandable.

However, not all fish are equally dangerous when it comes to mercury. The higher up the food chain you go, the more mercury there is, which doesn’t leave the fish’s body until it’s eaten. As a result, larger fish that consume smaller fish, such as tuna, swordfish, and mackerel, tend to have greater mercury levels. Healthy adults should consume 340g of fish per week, while pregnant women and children should consume 170 to 226g per week.


What Allergens Are In Tuna Rolls?

If you eat raw fish that has been contaminated with dead roundworms, you may get an allergic reaction. If you eat tuna rolls that contain dead Anisakis, a parasitic roundworm, you could have a major allergic reaction (nematode).

Are Tuna Rolls Okay For Vegans?

Vegans and vegetarians can still enjoy a wide range of tuna rolls options. If you wish to make your tuna roll vegan, you can use vegetarian/vegan toppings (rice, salt, rice vinegar, sugar, kombu seaweed, and sometimes sweet rice wine).

Which Japanese Food is Dairy-Free?

Many traditional Japanese cuisines, such as udon, ramen, and tempura, do not contain dairy because dairy was not brought to Japan until centuries ago. Even though modern Japanese cuisine has a western influence, it is necessary to be cautious and pay attention to the ingredients to preserve the flavor.


Spicy Tuna Rolls are a delectable Japanese dish that anybody may enjoy, whether or not they are following a dairy-free diet. To request a dairy-free tuna roll, specify that it be made without imitation crab meat, mayonnaise, cheese, or sour cream. Have you tried spicy tuna rolls yet? Let us know in the comment section. Hopefully, with the help of our article, you now have in-depth knowledge of Tuna Rolls.

Share your love
Bill Kalkumnerd
Bill Kalkumnerd

I am Bill, I am the Owner of HappySpicyHour, a website devoted to spicy food lovers like me. Ramen and Som-tum (Papaya Salad) are two of my favorite spicy dishes. Spicy food is more than a passion for me - it's my life! For more information about this site Click

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *